//
you're reading...
Chevy, Shows

Supernatural Blues

THE IMPALA!

Finally, Clark Kent and Lana Lang is off my system, I think. After my Prison Break and Smallville marathon, I’m off to start the Supernatural series. I don’t have time to watch and to catch the latest episodes of the current shows on television right now. So what I usually do is to watch it on my off days during the weekends. Just finished season 1 of Heroes, Smallville til season 5 and Prison Break. It’s time for Supernatural.

I’ve been hearing and reading a lot about Supernatural. And from the news and views that I read about the show, I think I’m gonna like this series.  The show that debuted on television on September 13, 2005 follows the story of two brothers played by Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles who travel across the country in a black 1967 Chevy Impala with the desire and the intention of investigating  and then combatting supernatural and paranormal events- these events are based on a number of US urban legends. Jensen Ackles is hugely familiar to me. He played a short role on Smallville, as Lana Lang’s boyfriend.

The show’s creator  mentioned that Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman and American Gods as one of the influences when this series was conceptualized and made. The show is now on its third season, and I will tell you guys if this series is worth your time. But I’m telling you right now, I think I’ll gonna like this series!

Grand Old Chevy Impala On The Go

Talking about the Supernatural series and then not talking about the ’67 Chevy Impala is not doing good justice to the series. As mentioned, the ’67 Chevy Impala plays a key role in making the story of the series run. This Impala was actually passed on to Dean by his father and the vehicle carries a Sedgwick County, Kansas license. I have this feeling that this car is the star of the show or at least one of the stars. The car carries a plate number KAZ 2Y5. This license plate is actually a reference to Kansas and the year the show premiered on television.

This car was featured a number of times on the show, and its presence on the series started with a teaser that shows the father and his two sons watching a house burns. Whose house, and why is it burning? That my friends is what I’ll find out when I start my Supernatural marathon this weekend.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

